Southern Association of Marine Laboratories 2009 Annual Meeting 27-29 April 2009

Estuarine Research Center Morgan State University 10545 MacKall Road St. Leonard, MD. 20685 (Local Host: Kelly Clark) Smithsonian Environmental Research Center 647 Contees Wharf Road Edgewater, MD 21037 (Local Host: Tuck Hines)

Tentative AGENDA (24 March 2009)

Monday, 27 April 2009

- 6:00-8:00 PM Reception Doubletree Hotel Annapolis 210 Holiday Court Annapolis, MD 21401 Tel. (410) 224-3150
- 7:00 PM Executive Committee meeting
- 8:00 PM Brew–pub Dinner (more info. later)

Tuesday, 28 April 2009 – Estuarine Research Center (ERC)

8:00 AM	Shuttle-van from hotel to Estuarine Research Center		
8:30 AM	Continental breakfast at Estuarine Research Center		
9:00 AM	Introduction and Welcome	W. Tunnell and K. Clark	
9:15 AM	SAML Laboratory Updates	All Directors (3 min. each)	
10:45 AM	Coffee Break		
11:00 AM	Internal Issue I: Hurricane <i>Ike</i> - SAML Disaster Relief	Nancy Rabalais, Bill Seitz, Roger Zimmerman	
12:00 PM	Lunch at Estuarine Research Center		
1:00 PM	Business Meeting	W. Tunnell	
2:30 PM	Break		

3:00 PM	Internal Issue II: Operating marine labs in tight economic times	Nancy Rabalais, Kumar Mahadevan, Bob Van Dohlah
4:00 PM	Internal Issue III: New NAML Direction/Update	Jim Sanders
5:00 PM	Tour of Estuarine Research Center	Kelly Clark
6:00 PM	Group Dinner – at ERC	Kelly Clark

Wednesday, 29 April 2009 – Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)

7:45 AM	Shuttle-van from hotel to SERC	
8:15 AM	Continental breakfast at SERC	
8:30 AM	External Issue I: a) Coastal Land Use/ Land Change	Sam Brody
	b) Lessons and Opportunities for Site Protection: SERC's 45-yr Experience	Tuck Hines
10:00 AM	Coffee Break	
10:30 AM	SERC Introduction and Tour	Tuck Hines
12:30 PM	Boxed lunches will be provided that may be eate Shuttle-van returns participants to the hotel	n at SERC or taken to go.

2008 SAML Executive Committee

President – Wes Tunnell	(2008-2009)
President-elect – Shirley Pomponi	(2008-2009)
Past President – Mike Orbach	(2008-2009)
Secretary – Sylvia Galloway	Continuous
Treasurer – Kumar Mahadevan	Continuous
Board Members at Large:	
Bob Van Dolah	(2007-2009)
Nancy Rabalais	(2008-2010)
Kelly Clark	(2009-2011)